:: Keloland.com | Wright Trial: Video Interrogation

Wright Trial: Video Interrogation


04/03/2007

video interrogation.jpgShe admitted meeting Darlene VanderGiesen at the spot police found the murdered woman’s abandoned truck. Prosecutors say that proves Daphne Wright was the last person to see VanderGiesen alive. 

Jurors watched a police interrogation video today in the second day of testimony in Wright’s murder trial. When police brought in Daphne Wright for questioning, all they knew was that she and Darlene VanderGiesen had a minor argument. And they suspected that Wright sent her threatening emails. 

But they didn’t know about a meeting between the two deaf women at the Sioux Falls Pizza Hut on 26th and Sycamore, where police had recently found VanderGiesen’s abandoned truck. 

Wright: “You’re blaming me for something I didn’t do.” 

Detective Michael Olson: “I’m not blaming you for anything. I’m just stating some facts. I’m trying to figure out what happened with Darlene.” 

But then, through the sign language interpreter, Wright admitted planning a meeting at the Pizza Hut. She says she and VanderGiesen were going to plan a Valentine’s Day surprise for Wright’s girlfriend Sallie Collins. 

Wright says she cancelled the meeting. “Honestly, I did not meet Darlene in person. I did not.” 

Olson didn’t give up on that line of questioning. 

Olson: “I think you met her at Pizza Hut. I know you met her at Pizza Hut.” 

Wright: “No I didn’t.” 

Then Wright’s story changed again. She admitted meeting VanderGiesen in the parking lot, then leaving separately. 

Olson asked why her story keeps changing: 

Wright: “Because I’m scared. Because you’re blaming me.” 

Olson: “I’m not blaming you. I’m just trying to figure out where this person is missing.” 

At that point, police weren’t sure VanderGiesen was murdered. Just that she was missing. And prosecutors tell the jury that this video proves Wright was lying. 

Olson: “What happened to her?” 

Wright: “I don’t know.” 

Also testifying today was Daphne’s roommate Jacki Chesmore.
Continue

Add to Technorati Favorites

    Leave a Reply

