:: Hometown Life | Focus on desires gets results ::

Focus on desires gets results


April 8, 2007

My brother and sisters were teenagers when I was born. There was no sibling rivalry with such a wide age gap, at least not on my part. I enjoyed their attention.

My sister, Nancy, who was the baby of the family until I showed up, surprised me on my 21st birthday when she said, “I finally forgive you for being born.”

My oldest sister, reminiscing, gave me a compliment. She said, “Even when you were in elementary school, you were a centered person. It even showed in the poster you had hanging in your bedroom.” She couldn’t be talking about the David Cassidy and Bobby Sherman posters.

When those came down, I filled my walls with posters of chimpanzees, my favorite animal after seeing the movie, Planet of the Apes. That movie sparked a huge interest in communicating with real apes. It was the focus of my ninth-grade term paper. I learned about sign language being taught to gorillas and clicking sounds being used to communicate with dolphins. I read everything the library had to offer, and everybody in the family knew it was my favorite topic of conversation.

The biggest poster in my room, was a chimpanzee sitting in a flower pot with a big flower hat on its head. My sister said, “You always seem to live by the caption on that poster.” I didn’t remember a caption. “Bloom where you are planted,” she said.

Could it be that those words had somehow stuck with me? They didn’t seem to be there when I was wilting after several years as an information systems consultant in the 1980s. I hated my job. Continue

Add to Technorati Favorites

    Leave a Reply

