:: Professor Mary Malzkuhn as an User of ASL – nwo52d.oypio.com ::

Professor Mary Malzkuhn as an User of ASL

I had an interesting conversation with my professor last night, and we discussed my experience with American Sign Language (ASL) at Gallaudet University and wondered how it might apply to the first chapter for my dissertation.

For me, the best ideas about ASL and higher learning came from Professor Mary Malzkuhn, a Deaf and native user of ASL. She brought herself as the whole professor into the classroom, modeling a presence and authenticity that would engage me as her government/human rights student. Beyond ASL, Malzkuhn reminded me that learning is unique for every student, and that I need to bring myself and my best gift to the art of higher learning, that there I would find the passion and joy to face my own limits and to love what Malzkuhn loved…learning how to learn…in the language and culture we shared, ASL.

Nevertheless, it was always instructive to chat with Professor Malzkuhn, who was accessible and open to my ideas and questions. She stressed the idea that using ASL academically was … continued

Add to Technorati Favorites

    Leave a Reply

